Original BHP Office Historic Site
The stone chimney marks the site of the hut built by the Broken Hill Mining Company (soon to become BHP) in May 1885 to house its first manager William Jamieson. It was, for a short time, used as the BHP works office where all mining business was conducted.
No photographs of the original hut have been located.
About 1907, BHP erected a wooden railing around the chimney so that it might be preserved. The top section has since been rebuilt and the structure covered.
In 2001, BHP became part of BHP Billiton, the world's largest resources company. As such this site represents the birthplace of BHP, a company which helped shape Australia's mining and industrial landscape.