Sturt Park Reserve & Titanic Memorial
Sturt Park was first gazetted as the Central Reserve in 1895 and was officially known as Sturt Park from 1944, to commemorate the centenary of the inland explorations of Captain Charles Sturt in 1844-45.
Near the rotunda stands a memorial to the heroic bandsmen of the ill fated steamship Titanic who continued to play as the ship went down in a valiant effort to quell the panic of the passengers. The memorial was erected because of the feeling among the Broken Hill bandsmen that a lasting monument should be created to the ship's band.
Beautiful Sturt Park has large grassed areas, a wonderful display of roses and flowers, a skate park and a fenced adventure playground for children (including a gas barbecue and a covered picnic area with tables and chairs).