Syndicate of Seven

On September 5, 1883, a Mount Gipps boundary rider, Charles Rasp, together with two dam-strikers, David James and James Poole, pegged out mineral lease number 12 at Broken Hill, because of Charles Rasp's belief that the outcrop contained tin oxide.

The claim was registered with the mining warden, Richard O'Connell; immediately afterwards they reported their action to George McCulloch, manager of Mount Gipps sheep station, the property on which the lease had been pegged.

At McCulloch's suggestion, a "syndicate of seven" was formed, comprising:
Charles Rasp, boundary rider; George McCulloch, station manager; George Urquhart, sheep overseer; George A. M. Lind, storekeeper and bookkeeper;Philip Charley, station hand; and David James and James Poole, dam-sinking contractors.

All agreed to subscribe 70 pounds towards the venture.

The Syndicate of Seven worked their leases using money they could ill-afford but within two years their small operations led to the formation of BHP and the opening of the worlds largest concentrate of lead, zinc and silver deposit.

It is a story of grit and determination set in a country beset by heat, dust, water shortage and crippling isolation. The story of the Syndicate of Seven sums up the spirit of the early Australian pioneers, whose actions shaped the nation, transforming it from an agricultural economy to an industrial one.

Find out more about the men of the Syndicate of Seven in this section.

Explore Syndicate of Seven:

Explore the daytrips:

Heritage Rail Trail Directory: