Tolmer Park



Right next to the Bordertown Visitor Centre, Tolmer Park consists of lovely old redgums and sweeping lawns alongside the Tatiara Creek.

The picturesque park has several redgum artworks and outdoor tables and chairs. There is an interpretive walk around the park explaining the history of the town and room for the children to wear off some energy. Be sure to show them the old gaol, which has been converted to park's public toilets.

Tolmer Park is named after Police Commissioner Alexander Tolmer who instigated the gold escort route between Mt Alexander (near Castlemaine in Victoria) and Adelaide. The Dukes and Western Highways run close to this original route.

In the early 1850s South Australia was on the verge of bankruptcy as so many men headed for the goldfields in Ballarat. Police Commissioner Tolmer instigated a series of escorts to bring the gold safely back to Adelaide to replenish the States' coffers. (There being bushrangers around at the time.) A total of 18 escorts were conducted between February, 1852, and December, 1853 - none of the gold was lost and the economy of the State was saved.

When surveying the route, Commissioner Tolmer was advised by the local aborigines that the area had a reliable source of water so it was at this site that the police depot was built and Bordertown now stands. The town was surveyed and the first blocks of land sold in 1852.

The site was originally called The Half-Way Point and then renamed the Border Town until it was finally changed to Bordertown. The South Australian/Victorian border was not officially designated until the early 1900s.

Tolmer Park is part of the original paddock which housed the horses.

Explore the daytrips:

The Limestone Coast Directory: